Movie Mars

Africando - Ketukuba CD Cover Art

Africando - Ketukuba CD

Personnel: Pascal Dieng, Lodia Mansour, Basse Sarr, Madilu System, Medoune Diallo, Sekouba Bambino, Amadou Balaké (vocals); Nelson Rodriguez (electric guitar); Nelson Hernandez (baritone saxophone); Ite Jerez (trumpet); Joe Fielder, Luis Bonilla, Ozzie Melendez (trombone); Alfredo Rodriguez, Efrain "Junito" Davila (piano); Adama Condé (balafon); George Delgado, Miguel Gomez (congas); Luis Quintero (bongos, guiro, maracas, timbales).
Audio Mixer: John Diaz.
Recording information: JBZ Studios, Abidjan, Ivory Coast; N.G. Studio, L'Hay Les Roses; Studio Recorder, Paris, France; Studio Skylight, NJ; Studio Solaris, Dakar, Egypt.
Photographer: Pierre René-Worms.
Arrangers: Alfredo Rodriguez; Nelson Rodriguez; Miguel Gomez; Boncana Maïga.
Some bands just can't put a foot wrong, and Africando is one of them. Their African-voiced salsa is always a joy, and this is no different as they reconnect the dots between West Africa and the Americas. Here, the African roots shine strong, especially on the cover of Franco's "Mario" which positively sizzles. But everything works, from the burning opener "Bogne Sirala," to "Nina Nina," sung by the American Joe King, bringing in something new. This is a disc that's truly a series of highlights, with some remarkable piano work from Efrain Davila and the late Alfredo Rodriguez that grabs credit from the five main singers. There may only be ten tracks, but when each one is such a gem, more would be too much. This is a record made for romance, for dancing, for listening -- an album for all seasons. ~ Chris Nickson

In Stock Item Ships for FREE ONLY 8 LEFT!